Honduras Mission Trip Experience

I’m going to post my writings that God inspired me to write during and after our missions trip to Honduras. I’ll make it into a serious and post links to them all here when they are available.

[ Part 2 ] [ Part 3 ]

On July 8th, I posted the following:

I shared a devotional on one of the fruits of the spirit this morning in Honduras, specifically the fruit of peace. Below is what I shared:

“When Kevin offered me the opportunity to lead a devotional on one of the fruits of the spirit, I had a verse picked out within the day. Shortly after I was inspired to write it up and was done with it early and sent it to Kevin and Patty. I was like, great! finally I got something done and not at the last minute. God wasn’t done. He had other plans. He always does.

Everyone told us that this trip would change our lives. My life was changed before the plane landed in Honduras. When I started to feel motion sick, I prayed – God, you know my heart, and you can protect me from this, please give me peace that transcends all understanding. God granted me physical protection in that moment and also did something so much greater – he gave me such a deep sense of peace – such peace that I was overwhelmed emotionally. When the plane landed, I was in tears, but not because of motion sickness, no God protected me and granted me such deep peace that I didn’t know how to respond; peace that transcends all understanding.

And now for the prepared portion of my devotional:

My wife and I experienced two miscarriages last year. Both happened very early in the pregnancies, but we learned first hand that life begins when the spirit enters. We now have two babies in heaven. God used those experiences to show us his love. God can turn really hard situations into periods of growth. I felt God’s love through so many people who loved us through that hard time. I never experienced God’s love like that before. I’ve been able to be more empathetic to so many more situations and love people more deeply after experiencing such suffering and love.

So, what does this have to do with peace? I’ll tell you. Most people can’t understand why we would still go to Honduras when we found out that we were expecting a child again (especially since the pregnancy was going so far and so well). From their human perspective, it doesn’t make sense to take a risk with a life that we worked so hard for. But, that’s the problem, the life growing inside of Patty isn’t something that we work for (even though it is hard work). No, the life growing inside of Patty is a gift from God. The peace that God gives us in this situation and in so many situations exceeds all understanding.

In Philippians Chapter 4, Paul writes:

‘Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.’

As we minister to and are ministered to by the people here in Honduras let us remember this verse in Psalms:

‘Consider the blameless, observe the upright; there is a future for the man of peace.’ -Psalm 37:37 NIV

If we can each dig down deep and be blameless, honest and good, others may observe the peace in us and with God’s love, grace, and peace that “transcends all understanding” they too may find peace and a future.”

Here is a picture of the group praying for us and baby Toby:

123-prayer-for-toby

UPDATE: Toby was born successfully and brings joy to so many. Here are recent photos of Toby wearing the “Copan Honduras” shirt that we bought for him:

honduras-shirthonduras-shirt2

Leave a Reply

